Boršod-Abaúj- Zemplén County

Essential characteristic of the member

Borsod-Abaúj-Zemplén County is situated in north-eastern Hungary.

It shares borders with the Hungarian counties Nógrád, Heves, Hajdú-Bihar and Szabolcs-Szatmár-Bereg, and with the Slovak counties Košice and Banská Bystrica.

Borsod-Abaúj-Zemplén is the second largest county of Hungary both by area and by population. The capital of Borsod-Abaúj-Zemplén county is Miskolc.

Considering its territorial division Borsod-Abaúj-Zemplén County consists of 16 districts, and 358 municipalities, of which 27 have the status of a town.

The main economic sectors in Borsod-Abaúj-Zemplén County are agriculture, foresty, tourism, water management and services.
The county is rich in cultural and natural heritage. The caves of Aggtelek Karst and the Tokaj wine region are on the UNESCO World Heritage List.

The coat of arms of the Boršod-Abaúj-Zemplén County

The flag of the Boršod-Abaúj-Zemplén County